Creative Spaces and Family Engagement in Libraries

Besplatni webinar: Creative Spaces and Family Engagement in Libraries

Predavačica:  Bridget Alexander

Datum i vrijeme:  12. srpnja 2014. – 12 Noon Pacific, 1PM Mountain, 2PM Central, 3PM Eastern

Struggling to infuse creativity into a cramped, quiet or quirky space? Tired of following powerful literature with cookie cutter crafts? Confounded by events attended by children 2 to 18 years old? Think you have to be an artist to engage children in the arts?

As an institution, the library has the power to teach families the joy and meaning derived from the creative process. Yet, too often, after a powerful story, we shut down the opportunity for authentic, individual responses by asking children to mass produce popsicle stick protagonists or glue soaked story props.

Library staff and parents often feel inadequate as artists and pass along their hang ups by safety proofing crafts or spending loads of money for professional artists to lead the workshop. In this webinar, we will rethink what it means to engage children and their families in creativity as we explore play based and process art. You will leave with very concrete ideas about designing a space and an approach that nurtures the artist in each child. As the sole access point to the arts for many families, libraries are a key force in ensuring every child can engage with the world as a creator.

At the end of this one-hour webinar, participants will:

  • Have a new way of viewing the arts that empowers them to design effective arts programs for children and families
  • Gain specific ideas for designing spaces for families to engage in the arts
  • Explore 5 stories and affordable and exciting arts experiences to accompany them

This webinar will be of interest to library staff working to engage families and enliven storytimes and programming for families.